NATA Exam-Admission Jankari
  • Connect With Us


rates: 1 avg: 1
Published : 20 May, 2011 By: Admission Jankari
  • NATA Exam

    The NATA Exam or most commonly known as the National Aptitude test in Architecture exam is a yearly exam that measures the aptitude of the applicant in the field of Architecture. The NATA exam tests the candidates in their critical thinking, observation skills, aesthetic sensitivity, drawing and sense of proportion that are gained over a period of time by the aspiring candidates.
    This is a test for all the prospective students who want to pursue a career in Architecture. The NATA scores are used by several institutions in their admission process for undergraduate degree in Architecture.

    Eligibility for NATA Exam

    All students with a 10+2 or equivalent degree from a recognized university or board of education with Mathematics being one the subjects and with 50% aggregate mars can take up this exam. Students currently pursuing their 10+2 course or currently taking the 10+2 exams are also eligible to appear for the NATA exam. However these students will have to produce their certificate of completion as and when required. Candidates who are reappearing for the exam, there will be no averaging of the scores on the first attempt.

    Registration Process for NATA Exam

    The NATA Application form is available for download or for a fees of Rs800 which needs to be paid while registration. The test fees are to be paid by Demand Draft or Banker's Cheque drawn in the favor of Council of architecture. On payment of the fees and publishing the relevant documents, the student can collect their appointment voucher form the Test centers. The documents required for registration are, the 10th standard or equivalent attested mark sheet copy, one recent passport size photo, any other valid identification proof and valid email address along with the test fees. The registration is to be completed in the test centers available in the location nearest to the candidate.

    NATA Exam Details

    The exam comprises of two parts, one to measure the aptitude of the candidates in their aesthetic abilities and the other gauge the candidate’s drawing skills. The aesthetic sensitivity test is a computer based online test which lasts for an hour. This test follows the paper based drawing test which is to two hour duration.

    NATA Drawing Test

    The candidates are tested on their drawing skills that they have honed since childhood in the drawing tests. The students are judged on their ability to sketch, understanding of proportions, visualization and drawing the effects of lights, sense of perspective drawing, drawing three dimensional elements, use of colors, two dimensional compositions, scales and drawing from memory. In the drawing test the candidates are scored on the basis of the above factors and a singe score is awarded to the candidates. In case a candidate has not attempted two tasks in the drawing section, then they do not receive any marks.

    NATA Aesthetic Sensitivity Test

    The Aesthetic sensitivity test is aimed at measuring the imagination, observation, creativity, communicational and the perception of the students, by means of 40 multiple choice questions. IT also tests the architectural awareness of the students. This test is administered after the completion of the drawing test. The Aesthetic test is a computer based test and the scoring depends on the number of correct responses to the questions.
    This computer test is adaptive in nature and the computer selects the next question based on the ability of the students to answer difficult questions. In case the student provides a false answer to any of the questions, then the computer automatically selects the next question which is of lesser difficulty. The marks assigned for higher difficulty questions are higher than the lower difficulty level questions.

Facebook Fan


450 characters left

Most Viewed College