Uttar Pradesh Technical University
  • Connect With Us

  • Uttar Pradesh Technical University

    Admission Helpline :0522-2732186

Uttar Pradesh Technical University

  1. Popular Name: UPTU
  2. Establishment: 2000
  3. Management: State University


Uttar Pradesh Technical University (UPTU) is a public university and one of the renowned university in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh set up by the Government of Uttar Pradesh on May 8, 2000. To reduce workload and to ensure proper management, the university was bifurcated into separate universities: Gautam Buddha Technical University and Mahamaya Technical University (MTU) with effect from May 1, 2010. But in 2013 as new government came into power this university was again formed by combining Gautam Buddha Technical University (GBTU) and Mahamaya Technical University (MTU) on January 5, 2013.


The University is affiliating in nature and its jurisdiction spans the entire state of U.P. in affiliating B.Tech., M.B.A., M.C.A., B.Arch., B. Pharma., B.H.M.C.T., M.Tech. and Ph.D. programmes in 785 colleges/institutions imparting graduate, postgraduate and doctoral level training in all government and private institutions located all over U.P. in engineering, technology, architecture, pharmacy, hotel management and catering technology as well as M.B.A. and M.C.A. programmes.

U.P. being the largest state of India with an area of around two lacs forty thousand square kilometers and population of more than 165 million people makes UPTU as one of the largest technical universities not only in India but perhaps in Asia. Because of its gigantic size and number of colleges affiliated to it and geographic dispersion, it has been sub-divided into five zones with 150-160 colleges in each zone for the ease of management and providing facility inter-zonal comparison and possible internal competition to enhance quality of teaching-learning processes.

The total number of affiliated colleges was 49 in the year 2000 which has now gone up to 238 and the University is still growing. The task of the UPTU at the moment includes conducting the State level Entrance Examination (UP-SEE) for admission to various programs affiliated to UPTU. Around 2,00,000 aspirants to UPTU take these entrance examination all over U.P. and in parts of Uttrakhand and Delhi.

The University conducts central examinations each semester for all the affiliated colleges and institutions and declares results quickly using technology-enabled systems. At present around 3,00,000 students are enrolled in its various programmes. More than 80,000 students are admitted every year. Medium of instructions and examinations is English.

UPTU is currently located in I.E.T. Campus at Sitapur Road in the Capital of U.P. at Lucknow but is in the process of having its own Headquarter building in its vicinity. UPTU also has a NOIDA Centre and Regional office to facilitate closer academic and industrial interaction around that zone where a prominent cluster of private affiliated colleges exists.


  1. Phone No: 0522-2732186
  2. Fax: N/A
  3. Website: www.uptu.ac.in
  4. Address: N/A
  5. State: Uttar Pradesh

Affiliated Colleges